I Won’t Do This Kind of Thing Often

And by that, I mean posting something on a day besides Tuesday. And that thing being one song.

Whenever I review music (you know… whenever I get around to doing that), I’ll review a whole album. But in one or two cases, I may hear a single song that I need to share. This is one of those times.

I was listening to Porcupine Tree’s In Absentia album (2002) as I was driving somewhere. It was all pretty good. Weird, but good. I didn’t have a single bad thing to say about it, but I wouldn’t rave about it either.

Then I came to this song…

…and holy crap! I heard it once and nearly wept like a small child. Yes, I get emotional over my music sometimes, I admit it. I didn’t even listen to the rest of the album. I just kept repeating this one. The weird thing was, even though I couldn’t understand the lyrics the first time around, it was still tugging at my heartstrings. I think it says a lot about a song if it can wreck your shit emotionally, even when you don’t understand it. It’s the guitars that got to me. Not to downplay the singers’ voices’ roles in the shit wrecking. Because they’re pretty damn great, too.

Then I looked up the lyrics… and the emotional trauma got worse. I nearly wept all over again.

Everything about it is just so beautiful and heartfelt. And for some reason, it stirred up some strange memories in me that I will not share. It hurt to listen to it, but in the best way possible. It’s the perfect song to listen to if you ever need to feel depressed.

It’s rare that I will ever refer to anything as perfect on this blog… But I think this song may be.

I pull off the road
East of Baldock and Ashford
Feeling for my cell
In the light from the dashboard

Hissing from the road
The smell of rain in the air con
Maybe check the news
Or just put a tape on

Lighting up a smoke
I’ve got this feeling inside me
Don’t feel too good

If I close my eyes
And fell asleep in this layby
Would it all subside
The fever pushing the day by

Motor window wind
I could do with some fresh air
Can’t breathe too well

(She waits for me. Home waits for me.)

I guess I should go now
She’s waiting to make up
To tell me she’s sorry
And how much she missed me
I guess I’m just burnt out
I really should slow down
I’m perfectly fine but
I just need to lie down

We’ll grow old together
We’ll grow old together
We’ll grow old together…

About The Organ Miner

I enjoy video games and otters. That is all that I am at liberty to disclose. View all posts by The Organ Miner

2 responses to “I Won’t Do This Kind of Thing Often

Leave a Reply

